Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Sir Georg Solti

Mercury Living Presence, Mussorgsky/Ravel – Pictures at an Exhibition


Available on vinyl for the first time in decades, the recording that birthed a label: Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition, with Rafael Kubelík conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra — the release which led Howard Taubman, chief music critic of The New York Times to write, “One feels one is listening to the living presence of the orchestra".

Side A
1    Promenade I     
2    Gnomus     
3    Promenade II     
4    The Old Castle     
5    Promenade III     
6    The Tuileries Gardens     
7    Bydlo     
8    Promenade IV     
9    Ballet of the Chickens in Their Shells     

Side B
1    Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle     
2    The Market-place at Limoges     
3    The Catacombs (Sepulchrum romanum)     
4    Cum mortuis in lingua mortua     
5    The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-Yaga)     
6    The Great Gate of Kiev

Release date: 26 November, 2021