The Choir of Kings College, Cambridge: The Complete Argo Recordings

The Complete Argo Recordings

The Choir of Kings College, Cambridge

  • US$134.99
    Delivery from US$16.50

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 February 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Box Set
Stephen Cleobury’s 37-year tenure as director of music at King’s College Cambridge ensured the most famous choir in the world maintained the high standards set by his illustrious predecessors, David Willcocks & Philip Ledger. Cleobury expanded the repertory of the choir and enhanced its global reputation through more frequent tours and television broadcasts. Under his direction, the choir set down a wonderful legacy of recordings, enriched by the chapel’s legendary acoustic. This new edition serves as a wonderful companion to the David Willcocks Edition released in 2015.
CD 1
1 TALLIS Spem in allium (40-part motet), Lamentations etc.  
CD 2
1 VICTORIA Mass & Motet “O quam gloriosum”; PALESTRINA Mass & Motet “Tues Petrus”  
CD 3
1 LASSUS Three Masses – Missa Vinum Bonum (Good Wine Mass), Missa Triste depart, Missa Quand’io pens’al martire  
CD 4
1 GABRIELI The Glory of Venice  
2 Philip Jones Brass Ensemble  
CD 5
1 VIVALDI Dixit Dominus; Beatus Vir  
2 Isobel Buchanan, Jennifer Smith, Helen Watts, Ian Partridge, John Shirley-Quirk, English Chamber Orchestra  
CD 6
1 HANDEL Dixit Dominus; Laudate pueri Dominum  
2 Isobel Buchanan, Ann Mackay, Michael Chance, William Kendall, Henry Herford, English Chamber Orchestra  
CD 7–8
1 HANDEL Messiah (1752 Version 1)  
2 Lynne Dawson, Hilary Summers, John Mark Ainsley, Alastair Miles, The Brandenburg Consort  
CD 9–10
1 HANDEL Israel in Egypt  
2 Ian Bostridge, Michael Chance, Susan Gritton, Stephen Varcoe, The Brandenburg Consort  
CD 11
1 MOZART Mass in C Minor, K139/47a (“Waisenhaus-Messe”), Mass in C Major, K257 (“Credo-Messe”)  
2 Susanne Mentzer, Bernadette Manca di Nissa, Neil Mackie, Stephen Roberts, English Chamber Orchestra  
CD 12
1 MOZART Masses – Coronation Mass, K317; Missa Solemnis, K337  
2 Margaret Marshall, Ann Murray, Rogers Covey-Crump, David Wilson-Johnson, English Chamber Orchestra  
CD 13
1 “HEAR MY PRAYER” – Choral music by Mendelssohn & Brahms  
CD 14
1 VERDI Quattro pezzi sacri (Four Sacred Pieces)  
2 Cambridge University Music Society, London Philharmonic Orchestra  
CD 15
1 BRITTEN A Ceremony of Carols*; Rejoice in the Lamb; A Boy was Born  
2 Rachel Masters, harp*  
CD 16
1 “A Celebration of Herbert Howells” incl. Collegium Regale  
CD 17
1 MAXWELL DAVIES Solstice of Light; Five Carols; Hymn to the Word of God  
CD 18
1 “HOLY, HOLY, HOLY” – 16 Favourite Hymns  
CD 19
1 “O COME ALL YE FAITHFUL” – 16 Favourite Christmas Carols  
CD 20
1 “THE KING’S COLLECTION” – includes Song for Athene; Miserere; Panis Angelicus; Zadok The Priest; Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring