Alicia De Larrocha: Alicia De Larrocha: Complete Decca Recordings

Alicia De Larrocha: Complete Decca Recordings

Alicia De Larrocha

  • US$110.99
    Delivery from US$61.77

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 27 July 2018
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
CD Box Set

  • Limited Edition 41-CDs set presenting Alicia de Larrocha’s complete Decca & American Decca recordings
  • Including previously unreleased recordings of Grieg and Albéniz
  • Includes discs of bonus material: 2 CDs of de Larrocha’s early Hispavox (EMI/Warner) Madrid recordings of piano encores
  • Includes recordings with Pilar Lorengar, Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos, André Previn, Sir Georg Solti, Riccardo Chailly, Zubin Mehta and David Zinman
  • 120pp perfect bound book:
    1. Introductions from Alicia Torra (daughter) and André Previn
    2. A new essay by Jed Distler: Vitality, Generosity and Joy: The Art of Alicia de Larrocha
    3. An excerpt from new and only available biography of Ms Larrocha by Mònica Pagès
    4. Many unseen photographs and facsimiles from Alicia’s private collection and Decca’s archives

Greatly respected by her peers, not least Arthur Rubinstein, Gina Bachauer, Van Cliburn, Claudio Arrau and Vladimir Horowitz, if you wanted to witness a Who’s Who of New York City-based keyboard luminaries gathered in one place, you simply had to purchase a ticket for an Alicia de Larrocha recital.. Slight of frame, de Larrocha’s physical stature belied her considerable accomplishments, not least in key corners of the French repertoire and the Russian Romantics where she positively flourished and we marvel at the pianist’s tiny hands effortlessly traversing huge leaps on the keyboard and summoning colossal sonorities that never splinter.

Born in Barcelona on May 23, 1923. Alicia de Larrocha came from a musical family. Both her mother and her aunt were disciples of the composer and pianist Enrique Granados. Alicia began lessons at the age of three with Granados’ student and teaching assistant, Frank Marshall who insisted that his gifted student gain a solid foundation in Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven and Chopin, which, in turn, helped to inform what would become her standard-setting interpretations of Spanish music. She explained in a 1973 Gramophone interview “if you can't play Bach correctly, you can't play Spanish music.”

Her first American recitals in 1954 and 1955 coincided with her first major label recordings, made in New York for American Decca, all reissued as part of the present collection. Though she broached the recording process reluctantly, she nonetheless recorded a large discography and it was her association with British Decca between 1970 and 1988 that was to be her longest and most fruitful major label relationship.

1 CD1                     Recital of Spanish Music  
2 CD2                    GRIEG & MENDELSSOHN Recital - L'Orchestre de la Suisse Romande; Sergiu Comissiona (Grieg Sonata – previously unreleased)  
3 CD3                    FALLA: Nights in the Gardens of Spain · CHOPIN: Piano Concerto No. 2  
4 CD4                    J.S. BACH: Concerto in the Italian Style; French Suite No. 6; English Suite No. 2; Fantasia in C Minor  
5 CD5                    SCHUMANN: Fantasie; Faschingsschwank aus Wien · Allegro in B Minor  
6 CD6                    SCHUMANN: Carnaval; Kreisleriana  
7 CD7                    SCHUMANN: Carnaval; Allegro in B Minor; Piano Concerto - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Charles Dutoit  
8 CD8                    KHACHATURIAN: Piano Concerto* · FRANCK: Symphonic Variations* · LISZT: Sonata in B Minor - *London Philharmonic Orchestra; Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos  
9 CD9                    RAVEL: Concertos* · FAURÉ: Fantasie - *London Philharmonic Orchestra; Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos  
10 CD10                 ALBÉNIZ: Iberia  
11 CD11                   ALBÉNIZ: Navarra; Cantos de Espana · Favourite Spanish Encores (Catnos de Espana – previously unreleased complete recording)  
12 CD12                  MOZART: Piano Sonatas Nos. 9-11; Fantasia in C Minor; Fantasia in D Minor; Rondo in D Major  
13 CD13                  MOZART: Piano Sonatas Nos. 4, 8, 12, 16 & 18  
14 CD14                 MOZART: Piano Sonata No. 14; Fantasia in C Minor · HAYDN: Piano Concerto in D Major; Andante con variazioni  
15 CD15                  FALLA: Piano Music  
16 CD16                 CHOPIN: 24 Préludes, Op. 28; Berceuse  
17 CD17                  RACHMANINOV: Piano Concertos Nos. 2 & 3* London Symphony Orchestra; André Previn · *Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; Charles Dutoit  
18 CD18                 MONTSALVATGE: Concerto Breve · SURINACH: Piano Concerto - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos  
19 CD19                 GRANADOS: Goyescas  
20 CD20                GRANADOS: Tonadillas; Canciónes Amatorias - Pilar Lorengar  
21 CD21                  MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 25 & 27 - London Philharmonic Orchestra; Sir Georg Solti  
22 CD22                MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 24 & 26 "Coronation" - Chamber Orchestra Of Europe; Sir Georg Solti  
23 CD23                 BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor"*; Bagatelles - *Los Angeles Philharmonic; Zubin Mehta  
24 CD24                MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 12 · J.S BACH: Keyboard Concerto No. 5 - *London Sinfonietta; David Zinman  
25 CD25                 GRANADOS: Danzas Españolas  
26 CD26                SCARLATTI: Piano Sonatas · SOLER: Piano Sonatas · HANDEL: Suite No. 5 "The Harmonious Blacksmith" · J.S. BACH-BUSONI: Chaconne in D minor  
27 CD27                 MOZART: Piano Concertos Nos. 19 & 22 - Wiener Symphoniker; Uri Segal  
28 CD28                SCHUBERT: Piano Sonatas Nos. 13 & 21  
29 CD29                BEETHOVEN: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 - Orchestra Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin; Riccardo Chailly  
30 CD30                BEETHOVEN: Piano Concertos Nos. 3 & 4 - Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin; Riccardo Chailly  
31 CD31                  BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 5 "Emperor"; Choral Fantasia - Orchestra Radio-Symphonie-Orchester Berlin; Riccardo Chailly  
32 CD32                 MOMPOU: Impresiones intimas; Cançons i dansas  
33 CD33                 GRANADOS: Seis piezas sobre cantos populares espanolas; Escenas Romanticas; Allegro de Concierto  
34 CD34                FALLA: Nights in the Gardens of Spain · ALBÉNIZ: Rapsodia Española · TURINA: Rapsodia sinfonica - Orchestra London Philharmonic Orchestra; Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos  
35 CD35                 ALBÉNIZ: Ibéria  
36 CD36                ALBÉNIZ: Ibéria; Navarra; Suite Española  
37 CD37                 ESPLÁ: Sonata Espanola, Op. 53 · RODRIGO: Danzas de Espana · GRANADOS: Danzas Espagnolas  
38 CD38                TURINA: Danzas Fantásticas; Ciclo pianistico VII & II; Recuerdos de la antigua España · GRANADOS: Escenas Romanticas  
39 CD39                GRANADOS: Goyescas; Impresiones intimas  
40 CD40-41       Early Hispavox recordings including: Chopin, Couperin, Debussy, Fauré, Paderewski, Tchaikovsky and Weber